Bureau of Health Facility Regulation

Assisted Living Unit: Assisted Living Facilities, Adult Day Care Center, Adult Family Care Homes

Certificate of Need (CON): The Certificate of Need program is a regulatory process that requires hospices, skilled nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities for the developmentally disabled, new hospitals and certain hospital services to obtain state approval before offering new or expanded services.

Commercial Managed Care: Commercial Health Maintenance Organizations, Exclusive Provider Organizations, Health Flex Plan Programs, Consumer Assistance Program, Prepaid Health Clinics

Hospital and Outpatient Services Unit: Abortion Clinics, Ambulatory Surgical Centers, Birth Centers, Community Mental Health Centers/Partial Hospitalization Programs, Comprehensive Outpatient Rehabilitation Facilities, Crisis Stabilization Units and Short Term Residential Treatment Facilities, Diagnostic Imaging Services, Health Care Clinics, Hospitals, Portable X-ray, Rehabilitation Agencies, Residential Treatment Centers for Children and Adolescents, Residential Treatment Facilities, and Rural Health Clinics

Laboratory and In-Home Services Unit: Clinical Laboratories, Drug-Free Workplace Laboratories, End Stage Renal Disease (ESRDs), Forensic Toxicology Laboratories, Home Health Agencies, Multiphasic Health Testing Centers (MHTCs), Nurse Registries, Organ Procurement Organizations, Tissue Banks, and Eye Banks

Long Term Care Services Unit: Health Care Services pool, Homes for Special Services, Homemaker & Companion Services Provider, Home Medical Equipment Provider, Hospice, Intermediate Care Facilities, Nursing Homes, Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Facilities, Transitional Living Facilities

Online Licensure Information

Other Resources

Frequently Requested Data Reports

Background Screening information

Survey Guidelines/Regulation Sets

Emergency Preparedness Information

Public Record Search: The Agency's Final Orders, Emergency Order, and Statements of Deficiencies may be viewed here.

Minimum Data Set (MDS):  A standardized definition of items used to improve quality of care by assessing the needs and functional status of residents in long term care facilities that participate in the Medicare and/or Medicaid program.

Outcome Assessment Information Set (OASIS):  A uniform core set of data elements used to improve quality of care by enabling measurement of patient outcomes in home health agencies that participate in the Medicare and/or Medicaid program.

Risk Management and Patient Safety Program