Florida KidCare is the state's children health insurance program for uninsured children. The 1998 Florida Legislature created the Florida KidCare Program, which provides health care coverage to children in families with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level. Except for Medicaid, most families pay a monthly premium of $15 or $20. KidCare consists of four programs:
|MediKids||Provides health care coverage for children ages 1 through 4, administered by the Agency for Health Care Administration.|
|Florida Healthy Kids||Provides health care coverage for children ages 5 through 18, administered by the Florida Healthy Kids Corporation.|
|Children's Medical Services Network||A health care plan for children from birth through age 18 with special health care needs, administered by the Department of Health for physical health services and the Department of Children and Family Services for behavioral health.|
|Medicaid for Children||Provides medical coverage for children from birth through 18 who qualify for the program's low-income eligibility requirement. The Agency for Health Care Administration administers the Medicaid program and the Department of Children and Family Services determines eligibility for Medicaid.|
Families with questions about Florida KidCare can call the toll-free telephone number at 1 (888) 540-5437) or visit the Florida KidCare website.