Bureau of Health Facility Regulation

Assisted Living Unit: Assisted Living Facilities*, Adult Day Care Center*, Adult Family Care Homes*
Certificate of Need (CON): The Certificate of Need program is a regulatory process that requires hospices, skilled nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities for the developmentally disabled, new hospitals and certain hospital services to obtain state approval before offering new or expanded services.
Commercial Managed Care Unit: Commercial Health Maintenance Organizations, Exclusive Provider Organizations, Health Flex Plan Programs, Consumer Assistance Program, Prepaid Health Clinics
Health Care Clinic Unit: Health Care Clinic
Home Care Unit: Health Care Services Pools, Home Health Agency, Homemaker Companion Services*, Home Medical Equipment Providers, Hospices, and Nurse Registry
Hospital and Outpatient Services Unit: Abortion Clinics*, Ambulatory Surgical Centers, Birth Centers*, Community Mental Health Centers/Partial Hospitalization Programs, Comprehensive Outpatient Rehabilitation, Crisis Stabilization Units* and Short Term Residential Treatment Facilities, Diagnostic Imaging Services, Hospitals*, Portable X-ray, Rehabilitation Agencies, Residential Treatment Centers for Children and Adolescents, Residential Treatment Facilities, Risk Manager, and Rural Health Clinic
Laboratory Licensure Unit: Clinical Laboratories, Drug-free Workplace Laboratories, End Stage Renal Disease, Multiphasic health Testing Center*, Organ procurement Organization, Tissue Banks, and Eye Banks
Long Term Care Unit: Nursing Homes*, Intermediate Care Facilities*, Homes for Special Services*, Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Facilities*, Transitional Living Facilities*
Online Licensure Information

*Available to renew online

Other Resources

Tips for Callers
Frequently Requested Data Reports
Background Screening information
Survey Guidelines/Regulation Sets
Emergency Preparedness Information
Public Record Search: The Agency's Final Orders, Emergency Order, and Statements of Deficiencies may be viewed here.
Minimum Data Set (MDS):  A standardized definition of items used to improve quality of care by assessing the needs and functional status of residents in long term care facilities that participate in the Medicare and/or Medicaid program.
Outcome Assessment Information Set (OASIS):  A uniform core set of data elements used to improve quality of care by enabling measurement of patient outcomes in home health agencies that participate in the Medicare and/or Medicaid program.
Risk Management and Patient Safety Program

NOTE: Agency letters are often sent to applicants by certified mail. All letters are sent to the mailing address provided on the application.